Settling in

Yesterday night I went to visit a good friend at my old flat. She still lives there and I still needed to collect a bike I’d parked there, and since I was going to a birthday party in the same building later on anyways, it seemed like a good opportunity to visit, catch up and share a meal.

It was strange being back in my old house. The hallway felt strangely distant and the kitchen suddenly looked old, dirty and out of place. Suddenly I couldn’t imagine that I had lived there for over two years, I couldn’t picture the parties we had, the food we cooked, the people that visited and the homework assignments I made at the kitchen table. It just looked like any other student dorm, with the exception of that I knew where to find anything.

I guess that it could be a good sign of how comfortable I’ve been since I’ve moved. The flat I live in now already feels like home, and after a month I can really say I’ve grown to love this space. My room is a lot more spacious than my old one, and I really feel at home with the way I’ve decorated it. I also especially love that we have a balcony AND can get up the roof and enjoy the sun from five stories up, the view is quite nice and the open space really clears my head. My flatmates are great too. Life here has been very pleasant!

I promised I’d also upload some pictures, but I didn’t want to make pictures until I settled everything and really felt at home here. So I guess now’s the time. Oh, and if you’re wondering why there’s no bed.. There is, the corner sofa actually pulls out into a double bed which I’ve slept quite comfortable on for the last two and a half years. I just didn’t want my room to be dominated by a big bed, and often have guests over, so my friends at IKEA really made it easy for me 🙂

One response to “Settling in

I would like to reply!